Collegiate, junior divisions settled in Asheville


ASHEVILLE, N.C. (Jan. 9, 2016) – Division I and II collegiate competition concluded, and the first seven junior divisions were settled on Saturday at the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships in Asheville, N.C.
Crimson celebrates his junior men's 11-12 win.
Benjamin Crimson celebrates his junior men's 11-12 win. (photo by Weldon Weaver)

The damp Biltmore Estate played host to Day 5 of the six-day event, where Marian University and King University put the finishing touches on the Division I & II titles after winning their respective 4x4 team relays. Andrew Dillman (Fairdale, Ky./Marian University) won the DI men’s title for Marian on Friday and Kaysee Armstrong (Knoxville, Tenn./King University) took second in the DII contest to help their schools to the omnium titles Saturday.
Collegiate team omnium results.
Collegiate results.
In junior men’s competition, Benjamin Gomez Villafane (Scotts Valley, Calif./Cycle Sport – Specialized p/b Muscle Milk) opened the day with a 31:41 win in the junior men’s 15-16 division.
Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y./Park Ave. Bike Shop) topped the junior men’s 13-14 field in 24:34, while Tea Wright’s (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) 19:30 run bested the junior women’s 13-14 division.
Kaya Musgrave (Littleton, Colo./Avout Racing) won the closest contest of the week, taking the junior women’s 11-12 win in 18:00, just edging Keren Bennett (Lenoir, N.C./Evolution Jr. Devo Team) by mere tenths of a second. Benjamin Crimson (Louisville, Ky./Papa John’s Racing Team) had much less trouble in the men’s race, winning in 23:44.
Closing out junior competition, David Thompson (New Canaan, Conn./CT Cycling Advancement Program) and Haydn Hludzinski (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) took the men’s and women’s 9-10 divisions in 16:06 and 18:42, respectively.
Braden Kappius (Boulder, Colo./TEAM CLIF BAR Cycling) topped the 111-rider men’s industry field in 40:32, and Cassandra Maximenko (Naugatuck, Conn./Van Dessel Factory Team) cruised to the women’s industry race win in 44:32.
Full junior and industry results.
Competition wraps up at the 2016 Cyclo-Cross National Championships on Sunday with the men’s and women’s elite and U23 divisions, as well as the junior men’s 17-18 and junior women’s 15-16 championships.
For a complete scheduleresults, course map and photo galleries, please visit the event web site. If you can’t make it out for the event, follow all of the action on Twitter using the hashtag #CXNats.

Mixed Division 1

1.  Marian University   Marian University   33:32 
2.  Fort Lewis College    Fort Lewis College   34:48 
3.  Brevard College    Brevard College   34:48 
4.  Lindenwood University    Lindenwood University   36:09 
5.  University Of New Mexico   University of New Mexico   36:10 

Mixed Division 2

1.  King University    King University   35:36 
2.  Furman University    Furman University   36:24 
4.  Wake Forest University    Wake Forest University   38:15 
5.  Milligan College    Milligan College   38:19 
6.  Dartmouth College    Dartmouth College   40:52 

Men Junior 15-16

1.  Benjamin Gomez Villafane (Scotts Valley, Calif.)   Cycle Sport - Specialized p/b Muscle Milk   31:41 
2.  Gaelen Kilburn (Burlington, Vt.)   Cyclocrossworld   31:50 
3.  Scott Funston (Black Diamond, Wash.)   Rad Racing NW   32:09 
4.  Calder Wood (Anacortes, Wash.)   Rad Racing NW   32:11 
5.  Henry Jones (Bend, Ore.)   Bend Endurance Academy   32:25 

Men Junior 13-14

1.  Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y.)   Park Ave Bike Shop   24:34 
2.  Nick Carter (Minneapolis, Minn.)   NorthStar Development Cycling   24:42 
3.  Jared Scott (Boulder, Colo.)   Rage Cycling Team   25:23 
4.  Dakota Cline (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   25:59 
5.  Ryder Uetrecht (Bend, Ore.)   BendBroadband/WebCyclery   26:08 

Women Junior 13-14

1.  Tea Wright (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   19:30 
2.  Lizzy Gunsalus (Dudley, Mass.)   Bay Hill Capital p/b Corner Cy   20:10 
3.  Lauren Zoerner (Highlands Ranch, Colo.)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   20:22 
4.  Juliann Vanderhaegen (Olympia, Wash.)   Rad Racing NW   20:31 
5.  Ryley Mosher (Boxborough, Mass.)   Wheelworks Racing JR   20:37 

Women Junior 11-12

1.  Kaya Musgrave (Littleton, Colo.)   Avout Racing   18:00 
2.  Keren Bennett (Lenoir, N.C.)   Evolution Jr. Devo Team   18:00 
3.  Reagan Long (Niwot, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   18:56 
4.  Lilly Ferguson (Le Mars, Iowa)   Central Junior Cycling Devo   19:37 
5.  Autumn Bartels (Williamsburg, Va.)      19:51 

Men Junior 11-12

1.  Benjamin Crismon (Louisville, Ky.)   Papa John's Racing Team   23:44 
2.  Adrian Magun (Mercer Island, Wash.)   Cycle U / Apex Racing   24:21 
3.  Jack Spranger (Seattle, Wash.)   Rad Racing NW   24:25 
4.  Carden King (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   24:44 
5.  Kahill Bailey (Lyons, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   25:10 

Men Junior 9-10

1.  David Thompson (New Canaan, Conn.)   CT Cycling Advancement Program   16:06 
2.  Henry Rapinz (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   17:05 
3.  Ryan Drummond (Oklahoma City, Okla.)   OKCVC Bike Lab   17:41 
4.  Chase Bailey (Lyons, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   18:09 
5.  Caleb Nevins (Williamsburg, Va.)      19:15 

Women Junior 9-10

1.  Haydn Hludzinski (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   18:42 
2.  Sienna Cozza (Presto, Pa.)   UPMC/ Pro Bikes   20:04 
3.  Francesca Swinand (Evanston, Ill.)   The Pony Shop   20:35 
4.  Kate Stanford (Cary, N.C.)   Evolution Jr. Devo Team   21:32 
5.  Alexis Hills (Westmoreland, N.H.)   Lionhearts Junior Racing   21:48 

Women Industry

1.  Cassandra Maximenko (Naugatuck, Conn.)   Van Dessel Factory Team   44:32 
2.  Campbell Steers (Santa Cruz, Calif.)      @1Lap 
3.  Amanda Schaper (Santa Cruz, Calif.)   Giro Sport Design   @1Lap 
4.  Julie Baird (Portland, Ore.)   Olympia Cycling Team   @1Lap 
5.  Laura Rice (Hendersonville, N.C.)   North Carolina Cyclocross   @1Lap 

Men Industry

1.  Braden Kappius (Boulder, Colo.)   TEAM CLIF BAR Cycling   40:32 
2.  Sean Estes (Morgan Hill, Calif.)   Cycle Sport - Specialized p/b Muscle Milk   40:35 
3.  Scott Chapin (Santa Cruz, Calif.)   Santa Cruz Factory Racing   40:52 
4.  Eric Fossell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)   Veloforma   41:18 
5.  Joshua Thornton (Dade City, Fla.)   Wicked Awesome Racing   41:30 

Related Articles

This Article Updated January 10, 2016 @ 04:25 AM For more information contact: