Collegiate races highlight CX Nationals Day 4


ASHEVILLE, N.C. (Jan. 8, 2016) – Collegiate races highlighted a Friday’s action at the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships in Asheville, N.C., as 186 Division I and II athletes turned the Biltmore Estate into a college course.
Cooper Willsey celebrates his men's DII win.
Cooper Willsey celebrates his men's DII win. (photo by Weldon Weaver)

Friday also crowned men’s and women’s singlespeed champions, as well as men’s and women’s 9-22 and mixed relay non-championship winners.
In Division I action, Andrew Dillman (Fairdale, Ky./Marian University) defended his 2015 men’s title with a 50:09 win, while Sofia Gomez Villafane (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College) delivered the women’s championship to Fort Lewis College in 36:07.
Cooper Willsey (Hinesburg, Vt./Furman University) popped a wheelie as he crossed in 43:42 to win the men’s Division II championship by more than two minutes, while Clara Honsinger (Ashland, Ore./University of Portland) created space throughout women’s Division II contest to take the win by 1:07, finishing in 37:15.
Following men’s and women’s individual races, Fort Lewis College and Marian University are tied atop the Division I omnium standings with 177 points, while Brevard College stands third with 122 points. King University leads the Division II standings with 158 points, trailed by Furman University with 123 and Miligan College with 117. Saturday’s 4x4 team relay will be the final collegiate event of the week.
Collegiate omnium standings.
Collegiate results.
Tristan Uhl (Austin, Texas/Ride Biker Alliance) went wire-to-wire to take down the massive 152-rider men’s singlespeed field, winning in 39:44, and Nicole Mertz (Columbia Heights, Minn./ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI) held off the pack to take the women’s singlespeed win in 44:42.
Taylor Squillaci (Albuquerque, N.M./Nero Veloce p/b Michael Thomas Coffee) and Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah/Alpha Bicycle Co.-Vista Subaru) won the men’s and women’s 9-22 non-championship events in 35:52 and 40:12, respectively.
Friday ended with the non-championship mixed team relay. Teams of four, including at least one woman and at least one junior, competed in a four-lap relay with each team member riding a single lap. Team LUNA-Clif took the win in 32:43, 11 seconds ahead of Team Fabulous and 30 ahead of Boulder Cyclosport-Boulder Juniors. Junior Alex Campbell (Lakewood, Colo./Team Clif Bar Cycling), Garret Gerchar (Boulder, Colo./Team Clif Bar Cycling), Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./LUNA Pro Team) and Brady Kappius (Boulder, Colo./Team Clif Bar Cycling) combined for the win.
Full singlespeed and non-championship results.
Juniors will take over the Biltmore on Day 5 of the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships Saturday at 9 a.m. EST, as 9-16 junior men and 9-14 junior women’s champions will be decided. The collegiate team omniums conclude with the 4x4 team relay, while the men’s and women’s industry races and Donut Race will close out the day.
For a complete scheduleresults, course map and photo galleries, please visit the event web site. If you can’t make it out for the event, follow all of the action on Twitter using the hashtag #CXNats.

Men Division 1 Nationals ALL MTB/CX

1.  Andrew Dillman (Fairdale, Ky.)   Marian University   50:09 
2.  Maxx Chance (Boulder, Colo.)   University of Colorado Boulder   50:51 
3.  Ian Mcpherson (Boulder, Colo.)   Fort Lewis College   51:15 
4.  Kacey Campbell (Fort Collins, Colo.)   Colorado State University   52:05 
5.  Cody Cupp (Durango, Colo.)   Fort Lewis College   52:12 

Men Division 2 Nationals ALL MTB/CX

1.  Cooper Willsey (Hinesburg, Vt.)   Furman University   52:40 
2.  Casey Hildebrandt (Weston, Wis.)   University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point   54:49 
3.  Robert Rimmer (Friendsville, Tenn.)   King University   55:09 
4.  Andrew Lints (Cambridge, Mass.)   Rochester Institute of Technology   56:09 
5.  Brendan Rhim (Norwich, Vt.)   Furman University   56:42 

Women Division 2 Nationals ALL MTB/CX

1.  Clara Honsinger (Ashland, Ore.)   University of Portland   37:15 
2.  Kaysee Armstrong (Knoxville, Tenn.)   King University   38:22 
3.  Katherine Shields (Advance, N.C.)   Wake Forest University   39:50 
4.  Allison Jones (Raleigh, N.C.)   Warren Wilson College   40:28 
5.  Julie Vanderhoop (Woods Hole, Mass.)   Massachusetts Institute of Technology   40:48 

Women Division 1 Nationals ALL MTB/CX

1.  Sofia Gomez Villafane (Durango, Colo.)   Fort Lewis College   36:07 
2.  Allison Arensman (Rutherford College, N.C.)   Brevard College   36:46 
3.  Laurel Rathbun (Monument, Colo.)   Marian University   37:34 
4.  Hannah Finchamp (Kennewick, Wash.)   Lindenwood University   37:48 
5.  Tiziana Dehorney (Albuquerque, N.M.)   University of New Mexico   37:50 

Men Non-championship 9-22

1.  Taylor Squillaci (Albuquerque, N.M.)   Nero Veloce p/b Michael Thomas Coffee   35:52 
2.  Andrew Borden (Pittsfield, Vt.)   Squadra Flying Tigers   35:55 
3.  Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y.)   Park Ave Bike Shop   36:03 
4.  Ryder Uetrecht (Bend, Ore.)   BendBroadband/WebCyclery   36:04 
5.  Donovan Birky (Bend, Ore.)   Bend Endurance Academy   36:22 

Women Non-championship 9-22

1.  Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   40:12 
2.  Ashley Zoerner (Highlandsranch, Colo.)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   43:32 
3.  Gabrielle Lehnert (Eugene, Ore.)      44:10 
4.  Petra Schmidtmann (Nederland, Colo.)   Rage Cycling Team   44:14 
5.  Ellie Mitchell (Anchorage, Alaska)      44:16 

Men Singlespeed

1.  Tristan Uhl (Austin, Texas)   Ride Biker Alliance   39:44 
2.  Tim Allen (Golden, Colo.)   Feedback Sports Racing   39:50 
3.  Jared Nieters (Wilmington, Vt.)   SEAVS/Haymarket   40:21 
4.  Westley Richards (Lewisville, N.C.)   Clemmons Bicycle Racing   40:28 
5.  Max Judelson (Berkeley , Calif.)   Rocklobster   40:31 

Women Singlespeed

1.  Nicole Mertz (Minneapolis, Minn.)   ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI   44:42 
2.  Jessica Cutler (Seattle, Wash.)   Jamis Pro Cyclocross   45:14 
3.  Melinda Mccutcheon (Salt Lake City, Utah)   Canyon Bicycles-Shimano   45:17 
4.  Emily Kachorek (Sacramento, Calif.)      45:54 
5.  Jennifer Nowlin (Plymouth, Minn.)   Power Fix CX   47:52 


Related Articles

This Article Updated January 9, 2016 @ 05:38 AM For more information contact: