Compton, Powers repeat as CX National Champions


ASHEVILLE, N.C. (Jan. 10, 2016) – Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Trek Factory Racing) and Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass./Aspire Racing) defended their elite national championship titles on Sunday, closing out the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships in Asheville, N.C.
Compton celebrates another national championship win.
Compton celebrates her 12th national championship win. (photo by Weldon Weaver)

Compton took the elite women’s win in 46:56, besting Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./LUNA Pro Team) by 22 seconds to earn the 12th national championship of her decorated career. Compton, Gold and Kaitie Antonneau (Racine, Wis./Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) battled for the majority of the five-lap event before Compton kicked in an extra gear and created enough separation to earn the win.
Antonneau ultimately finished third in 47:30.
Powers picked up his fourth national title in the last six years, crossing in 56:45. Like Compton, Powers ultimately bested two other riders who led the field with him all race before he clinched the Stars-and-Stripes. Stephen Hyde (Easthampton, Mass./Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) posed the greatest threat to dethrone Powers, leading at times, but ultimately fell by 10 seconds with a 56:55 silver-medal finish. 2015 U23 champion Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash./Cal Giant-Specialized), who hit the hole shot and stuck with Powers and Hyde most of the race, eventually took third in 57:26.
Ellen Noble (Kennebunkport, Maine/JAM Fund-NCC-Vittoria) defended her 2015 women’s U23 crown in 44:09, followed by Sofia Gomez Villafane (Durango, Colo.) in 45:46 and Emma White (Delanson, N.Y./Cannondale Cyclocrossworld Devo) in 46:24. Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz, Calif./California Giant Cycling) earned the men’s U23 national title in 53:19, outclassing Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y./Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Grant Ellwood (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Cycle Sport-YogaGlo), who finished in 53:29 and 54:21, respectively.
In the U23 women’s race, Hanna Arensman (Rutherford College, N.C./TWENTY16 Pro Cycling) clocked the top time junior 17-18 time in 47:20 to take the division win.
Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./Alpha Bicycle Co.-Vista Subaru) repeated as the junior men’s 17-18 with a 39:23 run, while Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah/Alpha Bicycle Co.-Vista Subaru) won the junior women’s 15-16 championship in 36:34.
Full Day 6 results.
For a complete scheduleresults, course map and photo galleries, please visit the event web site

Women Pro/1/2/3 Elite 23+

1.  Katherine Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.)   Trek Factory Racing   0:46:56 
2.  Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.)   LUNA Pro Team   0:47:18 
3.  Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis.)   Cannondale Cyclocrossworld   0:47:30 

Men Pro/1/2 Elite 23+

1.  Jeremy Powers (Easthampton, Mass.)   ASPIRE RACING   0:56:45 
2.  Stephen Hyde (Easthampton, Mass.)   Cannondale Cyclocrossworld   0:56:55 
3.  Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash.)   Cal Giant/Specialized   0:57:26 

Women 1/2/3 U23 17-22

1.  Ellen Noble (Kennebunkport, Maine)   JAM Fund / NCC / Vittoria   0:44:09 
2.  Sofia Gomez Villafane (Durango, Colo.)      0:45:46 
3.  Emma White (Delanson, N.Y.)   Cannondale Cyclocrossworld Devo   0:46:24 

Men Pro/Cat 1/2/3 19-22

1.  Tobin Ortenblad (Santacruz, Calif.)   California Giant Cycling   0:53:19 
2.  Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.)   Cannondale Cyclocrossworld   0:53:29 
3.  Grant Ellwood (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo   0:54:21 

Women Junior 15-16

1.  Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   36:34 
2.  Turner Ramsay (Rutland, Vt.)   KMS Cycling-Killington Mountain School   37:55 
3.  Petra Schmidtmann (Nederland, Colo.)   Rage Cycling Team   37:56 
4.  Ellie Mitchell (Anchorage, Alaska)      40:32 
5.  Abigail Youngwerth (Boise, Idaho)   TWENTY16 Pro Cycling   41:09 

Men 1/2/3 Junior 17-18

1.  Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo.)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   0:39:23 
2.  Denzel Stephenson (Boulder , Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   0:39:26 
3.  Eric Brunner (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Junior Cycling   0:39:29 
4.  Spencer Petrov (Mason, Ohio)   Cyclocross Network Racing   0:39:58 
5.  Evan Clouse (Park City, Utah)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   0:41:05 

Women 1/2/3 Junior 17-18

1.  Hannah Arensman (Rutherford College, N.C.)   TWENTY16 Pro Cycling   0:47:20 
2.  Shannon Mallory (Bellingham, Wash.)   Jamis Pro Cyclocross   0:48:59 
3.  Fiona Dougherty (Waco, Texas)   Squadra Di Servitori   0:50:30 
4.  Anya Malarski (Duluth, Minn.)   Power Fix CX   0:50:42 
5.  Ashley Zoerner (Highlandsranch, Colo.)   Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru   0:51:28 

Related Articles

This Article Updated January 11, 2016 @ 05:48 AM For more information contact: