​Masters men take on CX Nationals


ASHEVILLE, N.C. (Jan. 6, 2016) – All 11 masters men’s categories took on the challenging Biltmore Estate course at the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships on Wednesday, claiming the first Stars-and-Stripes jerseys of the six-day competition in Asheville, N.C.
Matt Timmerman breaks away from the men's 40-44 field.
Matt Timmerman breaks away from the men's 40-44 field. (photo by Weldon Weaver)

After a day of non-championship competition the day prior, 760 riders clipped in Wednesday to vie for the event’s first 11 national titles.
Spencer Whittier (Chattanooga, Tenn./Privateer Cyclocross Chattanooga) opened the day with the men’s 30-34 title, crossing in 40:32, followed by Jake Lasley’s (Broken Arrow, Okla./SPCX p/b R.K. BLACK) 47:18 win in the men’s 35-39 race. Matt Timmerman (Bethel, Conn.) crossed in 49:14 to win the men’s 40-44 championship, and Pete Webber (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Cycle Sport-YogaGlo) defended his men’s 45-49 title in 50:19 to close out the morning session.
In his first ever Cyclo-Cross National Championship race Victor Sheldon (Vista, Calif.) took the men’s 50-54 title in 42:28 to open up the afternoon session before Jay Trojan (Lincoln, R.I./Arc En Ciel Racing Team) paced the men’s 55-59 field to take the win in 45:19. Randy Root (Sterling, Va./Evolution Cycling Club p/b Long & Foster) outsprinted George Smith (Menlo Park, Calif.) to nab the men’s 60-64 title in 37:17, while Fred Wittwer (Charlottesville, Va./Charm City Cycling LLC) crossed in 39:05 for the men’s 65-69 win.
The day closed with all 70+ divisions. Whitney Fanning (Waco, Texas/Geri Atrix) bested the group of 70-74 riders with a 43:47 victory, while Marshall Gordon (Hendersonville, N.C.) and Fred Schmid (Waco, Texas/Bear Mountain Wolfpack) rode solo in the men’s 75-79 and 80-84 divisions, finishing in 30:43 and 42:10, respectively.
Full masters men’s results.
Competition continues at the 2016 USA Cycling Cyclo-Cross National Championships on Thursday at 9 a.m. EST with all masters women’s divisions and the women’s Category 4 non-championship event.
For a complete scheduleresults, course maps and photo galleries, please visit the event web site. If you can’t make it out for the event, follow all of the action on Twitter using the hashtag #CXNats.

Men 1/2/3 Master 30-34

1.  Spencer Whittier (Chattanooga, Tenn.)   Privateer Cyclocross Chattanooga   40:32 
2.  Toby Swanson (Snoqualmie, Wash.)   Ravenna Capital Management   40:53 
3.  Chris Drummond (Oklahoma City, Okla.)   SPCX p/b R.K. BLACK   41:01 
4.  Westley Richards (Lewisville, N.C.)   Clemmons Bicycle Racing   41:21 
5.  Adam St Germain (Burlington, Vt.)   NEXT-BMB   41:36 

Men 1/2/3 Masters 35-39

1.  Jacob Lasley (Broken Arrow, Okla.)   SPCX p/b R.K. BLACK   47:18 
2.  Matt Shriver (Durango, Colo.)   Trek Cyclocross Collective   48:15 
3.  Tom Burke (Grand Rapids, Mich.)   Giant Bicycles p/b CHG Inc. & Zingerman's   48:52 
4.  Sean Estes (Morgan Hill, Calif.)   Cycle Sport - Specialized p/b Muscle Milk   49:51 
5.  Nathaniel Ward (Lewisville, N.C.)   Cycletherapy   50:13 

Men 1/2/3 Master 40-44

1.  Matthew Timmerman (Bethel, Conn.)      49:14 
2.  Justin Robinson (Bonny Doon, Calif.)   Santa Cruz Factory Racing   49:32 
3.  Steven Stefko (Fort Collins, Colo.)   First City Cycling Team   49:34 
4.  Johannes Huseby (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo   49:45 
5.  Eneas Freyre (Norwalk, Conn.)   TTEndurance   50:01 

Men 1/2/3 Master 45-49

1.  Peter Webber (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo   50:19 
2.  Mark Savery (Omaha, Neb.)   Trek Cyclocross Collective   50:34 
3.  Roger Aspholm (Haworth, N.J.)   Finkraft   50:42 
4.  James Cochran (Iowa City, Iowa)   Atlas/Other Films   50:50 
5.  Brandon Dwight (Boulder, Colo.)   Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo   51:37 

Men 1/2/3 Master 50-54

1.  Victor Sheldon (Vista, Calif.)      42:28 
2.  Craig Cozza (Presto, Pa.)   UPMC/ Pro Bikes   42:47 
3.  Darron Cheek (Breckenridge, Colo.)   CROSS PROPZ RACING   43:53 
4.  Ralf Warmuth (Piscataway, N.J.)      43:59 
5.  Jw Miller (Madison, Wis.)   Erik's Bike Club/Eriks Bike Shop   44:21 

Men Master 55-59

1.  Jay Trojan (Lincoln, R.I.)   Arc En Ciel Racing Team   45:19 
2.  Thomas Price (Overland Park, Kan.)   Trek Cyclocross Collective   45:53 
3.  Robert Meighan (San Jose, Calif.)   None   46:07 
4.  Eric Anderson (Bridgewater, N.J.)   Somerset Wheelmen   46:16 
5.  Tyler Munroe (North Andover, Mass.)   Riverside Racing   46:31 

Men Master 60-64

1.  Randall Root (Sterling, Va.)   Evolution Cycling Club p/b Long & Foster   37:17 
2.  George Smith (Menlo Park, Calif.)      37:20 
3.  Tom Chitwood (Tulsa, Okla.)   Soundpony Triad Bank   38:07 
4.  Hardwick Gregg (Helena, Ala.)   Infinity Racing/Tom Williams BMW-Mini   38:44 
5.  Dag Selander (Hudson, Wis.)   Minnesota Junior Cycling Inc.   39:02 

Men Master 65-69

1.  Fred Wittwer (Charlottesvle, Va.)   Charm City Cycling LLC   39:05 
2.  Richard Pearson (Fremont, Neb.)   Team Kaos Cycling   39:37 
3.  Phillip Bannister (Putney, Vt.)   Putney/West Hill   41:25 
4.  Robert Ogren (Bloomington, Minn.)   The Fix Studio   41:54 
5.  Michael Meyer (Denver, Colo.)   Local Velo   42:21 

Men Master 70-74

1.  Whitney Fanning (Waco, Texas)   Geri Atrix   43:47 
2.  John Elgart (Sacramento, Calif.)   Alto Velo Racing Club   45:15 
3.  Jim Hoffmeister (Brevard, N.C.)   All Terrain Cycling   48:02 
4.  David Thomas (Knoxville, Tenn.)   Micro Metals/Bike Zoo   @1Lap 
5.  James Wagner (Milton, Del.)   Team Beyer Auto   @1Lap 

Men Master 75-79

1.  Marshall Gordon (Hendersonville, N.C.)      30:43 

Men Master 80-84

1.  Frederic Schmid (Waco, Texas)   Bear Mountain Wolfpack   42:10 

Related Articles

This Article Updated January 7, 2016 @ 02:48 AM For more information contact: