USA Cycling 'Club of the Year' Recipients

Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 16, 2004)—USA Cycling announced today the recipients of its annual “Club of the Year” honors. Ten cycling clubs in the United States have been given the distinction of excellence in three overall divisions and seven special categories.

Divisions were determined by how well-rounded and active a club was in proportion to its number of members. Judges based their decisions on the amount of events a club held, outstanding competitive results, clinics and seminars held to benefit member education and community related charitable events.
Special awards focused on juniors, women, track racing, mountain biking, collegiate, masters and an award for the best new club of 2004.

Clubs were further evaluated on programs implemented to stimulate growth in their discipline or club and the visible results of those programs.

Congratulations go out to the 2004 USA Cycling Clubs of the Year!

Division I Club of the Year: Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club - Saratoga, Calif.
Division II Club of the Year: Bay Area Velo Girls - San Mateo, Calif.
Division III Club of the Year: Desert Foxes - Tucson, Ariz.
Collegiate Club of the Year: Midwestern State University Cycling Team - Wichita Falls, Texas
Mountain Bike Club of the Year: Cumberland Transit Cycling Club - Nashville, Tenn.
Track Club of the Year: Hammer Racing Team - Littleton, Colo.
Best New Club of 2003: Cross Creek Cycling Club - Fayetteville, N.C.
Women’s Club of the Year: Sound Velo Cycling Club - Seattle, Wash.
Master’s Club of the Year: Pasadena Athletic Association/Merrill Lynch -Pasadena, Calif.
Junior/H.S. Club of the Year: GP Velotek - Lawrence, Kan.

Special thanks to all of the clubs from USA Cycling who participated in the 2004 Club of the Year program.

This Article Published December 16, 2004 For more information contact: