USA Cycling recognizes nine Club of the Year recipients

Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 12, 2006)—USA Cycling announced today the recipients of its annual “Club of the Year” competition.
Of the 1,905 USA Cycling-sanctioned clubs in the United States, nine were chosen this year for recognition in three overall divisions and six special categories.

The San Diego Bicycle Club earned the Division I Club of the Year distinction, while the Skylands Cycling Club in Sussex, N.J. was designated Division II Club of the Year and Team DRT/Deep Blue in Wilmington, Del. took home the Division III award.

Division I is defined as having 76+ members, while Division II clubs have between 30 and 75 members and Division III has less than 30.

Other recipients include Western State College in Gunnison, Colo. as the Collegiate Club of the Year, Hammer Racing Team in Littleton, Colo. as Track Club of the Year, Dirty Divas of MTB Cincy in Ohio as Mountain Bike Club of the Year, Velo Girls in San Mateo, Calif. as Women’s Club of the Year, the Pasadena Athletic Association as Master’s Club of the Year and the Boise Young Rider Development Squad (BYRDS) in Idaho as the Junior/High School Club of the Year.

Overall divisions were determined by a club’s overall scope and activity in proportion to its number of members.  Judges based their decisions on the number of events a club promoted, competitive results, educational clinics and seminars, and community activities.

The six special categories were chosen by evaluating programs which resulted in the growth of their respective disciplines or groups.
As part of the recognition, these nine clubs will all receive complimentary club dues in 2007, a $150 value.

For more information on the 2006 Club of the Year recipients download upcoming editions of USA Cycling News, USA Cycling’s official e-newsletter, from the USA Cycling website,

2006 USA Cycling Club of the Year Recipients
Division I – San Diego Bicycle Club (San Diego, Calif.)
Division II – Skylands Cycling Club (Sussex, N.J.)
Division III – Team DRT/Deep Blue (Wilmington, Del.)
Collegiate Club of the Year – Western State College (Gunnison, Colo.)
Track Club of the Year – Hammer Racing Team (Littleton, Colo.)
Mountain Bike Club of the Year – Dirty Divas of MTB Cincy (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Women’s Club of the Year – Velo Girls (San Mateo, Calif.)
Master’s Club of the Year – Pasadena Athletic Association (Pasadena, Calif.)
Junior/High School Club of the Year – Boise Young Rider Development Squad (BYRDS) (Boise, Idaho)

About USA Cycling

Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 60,000 members and 2,000 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men’s road). For more information visit or contact USA Cycling Director of Marketing and Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.

This Article Published December 12, 2006 For more information contact: